Conference Deans and Relaters

Leading the Metropolitan Chicago Synod's Eight Conferences

Click here for Conference maps.

The dean of a Conference shall:

  • aid the Conference and its planning council in setting and achieving Conference objectives,
  • arrange the monthly meetings of ordained ministers, and deacons,
  • maintain personal contacts with the ordained ministers and deacons of the Conference,
  • serve as a communications link between the synod office and the ordained ministers, and deacons of the Conference,
  • make an annual written report to the bishop -- including a summary of Conference activities and advising with respect to the conditions and needs of this church within her/his Conference -- to be part of the reports to the Assembly, and
  • perform such other duties as the bishop may from time to time assign.

The deans may attend meetings of the Council as spokespeople and observers for their Conferences, with voice but not vote at such meetings.

Central Conference Co-deans

The Rev. Meagan Sherman-Sporrong (6/20)
Acacia Park Lutheran Church
4307 N. Oriole Avenue
Norridge, IL 60706
708-453-3662 - congregation

The Rev. Carla Thompson Powell (6/21)
United in Faith Lutheran Church
6525 W. Irving Park Road
Chicago, IL 670634
773-283-2326 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Kathy Nolte

Near West Conference Co-deans

The Rev. Katie Hines-Shah (6/20)
Redeemer Lutheran Church
139 E. 1st Street
Hinsdale, IL 60521
630-323-5530 - congregation

The Rev. Zachary Wagner (6/21)

Saint Paul Lutheran Church
545 S. Ardmore Avenue
Villa Park, IL 60181
630-832-5580 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Kyle Severson

North Conference Dean

Rev. Matthew J. Smith-Laubenstein (6/21)
Grace Lutheran Church
501 Valley Park Drive
Libertyville, IL 60048
847-367-7050 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Kyle Severson

Northeast Conference Co-deans

The Rev. Deanna Langle (6/20)
University Lutheran Church/Lutheran Campus Ministry at Northwestern University
2204 Orrington Avenue
Evanston, IL 60201
847-864-7849 - congregation

The Rev. Nicholas J. Zook (6/21)
Concordia Lutheran Church
3855 N. Seeley Avenue
Chicago, IL 60618
773-281-1225 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Robert E. Biekman

Northwest Conference Dean

The Rev. Linda J. Thurston (6/20)
Trinity Lutheran Church
675 E Algonquin Road
Des Plaines, IL 60016-6297
847-827-6656 -congregation

Relates to the Rev. Sunitha Mortha

South Conference Co-deans

The Rev. Lester White (6/21)
7352 S. Calumet Avenue
Chicago, IL 60619
773-782-7776 - congregation

The Rev. Matthew Zemanick (6/21)
Lebanon Lutheran Church
13100 S. Mainstee Avenue
Chicago, IL 60633
773-646-1747 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Robert E. Biekman

Southwest Conference Co-deans

The Rev. Chris Wogaman (6/20)
Trinity Lutheran Church
2901 Western Avenue
Park Forest, IL 60466
708-747-8388 - congregation

The Rev. Brittany Baurle Kooi (6/21)
First Lutheran Church
2519 Grove Street
Blue Island, IL 60406
708-385-4700 - congregation

Relates to Rev. Kathy Nolte

West Conference Dean

The Rev. Lisa Watson-Hill (6/21)
Trinity Lutheran Church
35460 Curtis Avenue
Warrenville, IL 60555
630-393-0104 - congregation

Relates to the Rev. Sunitha Mortha

Synod Staff Relaters

Pr. Robert Biekman ( - South and Northeast

Pr. Sunitha Mortha ( - Northwest and West

Pr. Kyle Severson ( - North and Near West

Pr. Kathy Nolte ( - Central and Southwest

Page URL: