2013 Synod Assembly


26th Annual Synod Assembly

Thumbnail image for ELCA_25art_PMS124.gif

Friday - May 31 and Saturday - June 1, 2013

Tinley Park Convention Center
18451 Convention Center Dr.
Tinley Park, IL 60477


General Election Results

Mission Moments






Report on the Twenty-Sixth Annual Assembly
Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA

Prepared by Jeffrey L. Drake
Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA

Dowload report as a PDF

The Metropolitan Chicago Synod at its assembly May 31 to June 1, 2013, at the Tinley Park Convention Center, Tinley Park, Ill., celebrated the 25th anniversary of the formation of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America using the churchwide office theme “Always being made new. 25 years together in Christ,” inspired by 2 Corinthians 5:17-21.

After devotions and the Order for the Opening of an Assembly, the parliamentarian was appointed, the agenda approved, and committees appointed. The ELCA representative, Vice President Carlos E. Peña, then explained the process for the ecclesiastical ballot for bishop and voting members completed their ballots. This was followed by ecclesiastical ballots for synod vice president and secretary.

The keynote address was given by the Rev. Herbert W. Chilstrom, former ELCA presiding bishop from 1987 to 1995. He discussed the beginning and early years of the church. Following this were reports by the synod vice president, secretary, and treasurer. After lunch and conference meetings, the ELCA report was presented by Mr. Peña.

On Friday afternoon, on the second ballot, Bishop Wayne N. Miller was re-elected with 364 votes, Ms. Nanette Dahlke was re-elected as synod vice president with 372 votes, and the Rev. Steven Srock was re-elected as synod secretary with 340 votes.

Two sessions of hearings on resolutions and workshops filled the balance of the afternoon. Workshops were presented by partner ministries, synod staff, and a variety of other organizations sharing ideas about mission and ministry that voting members and visitors could then share with their congregations.

Throughout the plenary sessions, participants heard eight mission moments, coordinated by the synod’s Mission Interpreter Network that told the story of congregations making a difference in their local communities, nationally, and around the world.

The day ended with a Celebration of the Holy Eucharist - The Visit of Mary to Elizabeth - at 5:30 p.m.  All were invited to attend the worship service.  Bishop Miller's sermon, "Visitation," is available here.

After devotions on Saturday morning the results for the general ballot for synod council, consultation committee, and discipline committee were shared. Elected to the synod council were: Joyce Wyatt (C)*, Judy Twist (NrW), Rev. Robin Brown (NE), Karen Scott (S)*, Rev. Sue Allen (OCM), Rev. Michael Russell (OCM)*, Dan Feiertag (OCM), Carlos Ortiz (OCM)*, and Anna Maria Duran (YM). Elected to the consultation committee were: Bill Keippel, Rev. Paul Landahl, and Rev. Kathie Bender-Schwich. An asterisk indicates a person of color or language other than English. Conference designations are in parentheses. “OCM” means Other Council Member (not elected to represent a conference) and YM stands for youth member. Elected to the discipline committee were: Dieter Schulte, and the Rev. Terry Baeder. Several vacancies in the committees will be filled by appointment by the synod council.

Following this, Bishop Miller gave his report where he presented an overview on where the synod has been in the past 25 years, and explored the idea of creating Affiliate Mission Communities (AMC) that would be led by a missionary, with the communities growing and multiplying on the Reproducing Leadership Model that has been in place in the synod for several years. The goal of the AMCs is outreach to those who will never or seldom affiliate with a traditional congregation. Outlining the aspects of the establishing these new communities, Bishop Miller once again lifted up the “network model” of being a synod which he introduced in his first bishop’s report in 2008. (The PowerPoint of this report will be made available online, a video of the presentation posted, and a DVD mailed to congregations.)

The 2014 budget was adopted as presented.

2014 Budget (PDF)
2014 Budget with line explanations (PDF)

The following resolutions and memorials were also debated and passed:

Res. 01-13 – Security, Justice, and Peace for the People of the Holy Land (revised)
Res. 02-13 – Prayer Vigil for the Middle East
Res. 03-13 – Boy Scouts of America Units Sponsored by Congregations of the ELCA
Res. 04-13 – Calling for Conversations about Ministering to Same-gender Couples and Families
(revised and updated)
Res. 05-13 – Resolution on Violence
Mem. 01-13 – Memorial to the Churchwide Assembly Regarding Security, Justice, and Peace for the People of the Holy Land
Mem. 02-13 – Memorial to the ELCA Churchwide Assembly and Church Council Calling for Conversations about Ministering to Same-gender Couples and Families 

Significant anniversaries of congregations and rostered leaders were noted, and two new congregations, Iglesia de la Santa Cruz, Chicago, and Naperville Yuhllin Church, were welcomed.

The day ended with a closing prayer and the Order for the Closing of an Assembly.



"Always being made new."  

"So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new!" (2 Corinthians 5:17).

Keynote speaker

Our keynote speaker on Friday was the Rev. Herbert W. Chilstrom who served as presiding bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America from its inception in 1987 to October 1995.  Brief biography



Previous assemblies

[Synod Assembly 2012] [Synod Assembly 2011
[Synod Assembly 2010] [Synod Assembly 2009]

Page URL: http://www.mcselca.org/assembly/2013.php