2012 Synod Assembly


Friday, June 1, and Saturday, June 2, 2012
Tinley Park Convention Center
18451 Convention Center Dr.
Tinley Park, IL 60477


Watch Bishop Miller's 2012 Assembly Report

Watch Welcome to Shekinah Chapel


Report on the Twenty-fifth Annual Assembly
Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA

Prepared by Jeffrey L. Drake
Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA

Download Report as PDF


“For God All Things Are Possible” was the theme as the Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA, met for its 25th annual assembly June 1-2, 2012, at the Tinley Park Convention Center, 18451 Convention Center Dr., Tinley Park, IL 60477. The assembly opened with a Celebration of Holy Eucharist at 9 a.m. The Rev. Al Starr, the churchwide office representative, preached the homily, and Bishop Wayne N. Miller declared the opening of the assembly. Following the appointment of committees, Bishop Miller gave his report entitled “Possibility.” Reports by the synod vice president, secretary, and treasurer were also shared. A bible study was presented by the Rev. Ray Pickett, Professor of New Testament at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago.

  1. RES. 01-12 Supporting the Illinois Religious Freedom and Marriage Fairness Act (revised)
  2. RES. 02-12 Calling for Banking and Corporate Responsibility (revised)
  3. RES. 03-12 RefugeeOne

The budget was passed as presented.

Friday afternoon there was an opportunity to take part in two sessions of workshops and hearings on resolutions and the budget. Throughout the assembly, participants were able to learn from 30 displays representing a wide range of ministries carried out by the synod, congregations, and partner ministries.

Eight Mission Moments, shared with the assembly, highlighted some of the many social and justice ministries congregations in the synod provide to their communities.

In addition, the assembly elected voting members to the 2013 Churchwide Assembly that will be held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In addition to synod bishop Wayne N. Miller, and synod vice president Nanette Dahlke, ex officio, elected were: Dieter R. Schulte (NE), Ken Olson (NW), Doran Harper (SW)*, Vance Blackfox (S)*, Mark Johnson (NRW), Rev. Kris Ferkin (N), Rev. Joe E. McInnis (NE), Rev. Erik Christensen (C), Rev. Larry Clark (S)*, Marlene Daubert (NW), Kwame Pitts (S)*, Sandy Reback (NRW), Joan Church (N), Patricia Gerber Bornholt (W), Heather Kulp (C), Rev. Jennifer Fisher (W), Rev. Linda Johnson Seyenkulo (SW), Rev. Robin Brown (NE), Rev. Chienyu Jade Yi (NRW)*. An asterisk indicates a person of color or language other than English.


[Synod Assembly 2011]

[Synod Assembly 2010]

[Synod Assembly 2009]

Page URL: http://www.mcselca.org/assembly/2012.php